Legen…wait for it…dary.

I love having cable.  More specifically, I love the Food Network.

The apartment I was living in for the previous two months of this summer did not have cable, which was fine with me since I don’t really watch all that much TV. But I had to move out this week since the lease ended and am currently bunking down in another friend’s apartment until my fall lease starts.

Con-moving a lot. Pro- Now I watch Food Network all day. Every day.

This means I get lots and lots of new ideas to feed my cooking and food obsession.  Dangerous? Yes. Yummy? You betcha.

Yesterday I caught an episode of Barefoot Contessa, my idol, where she made an apple and pear cobbler, and just stored that info away in my brain for future use.

So later that night, I was really craving the peaches I bought from the farmer’s market earlier this week.  But being me, I wasn’t about to just bite into it. Ohhhhh no. Those peaches needed to become cobbler. STAT.

After browsing allrecipes.com for bit and not finding what I wanted, I decided to just go for it and make up a cobbler recipe as I went along, based on what I saw Ina do earlier that day.

Normally when I do this, it is a recipe for disaster. Just ask my sister. I’m not a baker,  I should really only use the oven when vegetables or meats are involved.

But last night somehow I pulled it out and came up with an AWESOME cobbler recipe. Check it out:

Cobbler:

3-4 peaches

4 Tsp butter (give or take, these are all estimates of what I may or may not have thrown in a bowl last night at around 9:30 pm)
1 cup white sugar

1 egg

1/2 cup flour

2 Tsp lemon juice

1 tsp cinnamon

Slice or cube peaches, placing in a 9×9 square glass baking dish.

Cream butter and sugar, then add lemon juice and egg.  Add flour and cinnamon, and stir together. This should have a cake-batter consistency.

Cover the peaches with the cobbler batter, folding together.

Looks yummy

Oatmeal Topping (idea from the Barefoot Contessa):

1 cup oatmeal

butter

3/4 cup light brown sugar

1/2 cup flour

Cream butter and sugar, add in flour and oatmeal until combined. Crumble on top of the cobbler.

Creaming together the topping. I did it with my hands since I lacked a mixer.

I baked my cobbler at 375 degrees for about 45 minutes until the top was a little brown and crusty.

I may have eaten this for lunch. Twice.

Since there’s no baking powder or soda, there’s no problems with getting the batter to rise properly, which has plagued my mom’s cobbler as far back as I can remember.

The peaches didn’t get as gooey as in other cobblers since they were more or less suspended in the batter, but this really didn’t hurt the taste. In fact I liked it better!

Depending on how you like your cobbler, the ratio of fruit-batter can be tweaked, and the oatmeal topping is just an added bonus and totally not necessary for this to taste really yummy!

My boyfriend gave me a high-five for this recipe and went back for more, so if you don’t want to take my word for it, take his.  I quote, “this is awesome.”

One thought on “Legen…wait for it…dary.

  1. Claire and I have read your recipe and think you meant Tbs…tablespoons for the the amount of butter and lemon juice not tsp which is teaspoons.

    We want to know what the title of this blog means…we don’t quite get it. 🙂

    Lots of love from the other great chefs in your life,
    mom and Claire

Comments are closed.