The NC Apartment- A Decorating Adventure

This is the start of my third week in North Carolina, where does the time go??  Matt and I were so excited to get into our first place that we had our apartment set up within 48 hours of arriving in North Carolina. We were total moving workhorses; it was impressive.  But then my grad school workshop started and in the excitement of starting that blog, I neglected this blog.  To make up for that, here are some pictures of the new apartment, which highlight some of my latest design infatuations:

Entryway
Here’s our entryway! The chalkboard was one of our projects this first week we were in the apartment.
Living Room
For some reason, step tables have been flying out of antique stores around Oxford. I’m obsessed too, it’s a fun retro touch. And gallery walls are another one of my obsessions, hopefully I’ll keep adding to mine.


living room 2
Another view of the living room. This one you can really see the ikat fabric my mom and I found for some antique store chairs. SO cute.
Dining room
Our dining nook. The mismatched chairs were Matt’s idea, the boy has some good style!
The view of half of our kitchen. We had extra ikat fabric from our chairs so we got a curtain made too!
The other half of our kitchen. It’s tiny.
Bedroom
Here’s our bedroom, inspired by a quilt Matt’s mom made for him. We went with navy blue dust ruffle and curtains and brightened things up with the white bedspread and lamps. The headboard is an old door we found at an antique store, an idea I got from a design blog.


