Week 2 of Boot Camp

It’s the beginning of week three, the last week of summer  boot camp.  I can’t believe how much ground we’ve covered in such a short span of time.  My knowledge of software has easily quadrupled from where it was two weeks ago and my photography knowledge has probably quadrupled as well.

Last week we covered Photoshop, Illustrator, Final Cut X, shooting with our Panasonic video cameras (I can’t remember the model at the moment…), and lighting when we shoot.  Photoshop and Illustrator are programs I’ve always wanted to learn how to use, I’m so excited to learn more from those two programs.  I never thought I would be a film person per se, but I think learning camera operation and how to light and edit professionally are going to be really useful skills in the future.  I know I’ll never be where some people in my program are at (career photographers and documentarians),  but at least I know I can only improve from where I’m at!

Thus far this week we’re learning Flash, the platform for animating illustrations and complex websites.  It’s probably the toughest thing we’ve done so far (or will do to be honest) since it combines both the illustrating components of Photoshop/Illustrator and the coding of CSS/HTML.  BUT thanks to a lot of time watching online tutorials at Lynda.com I am feeling ok with it (for now) and even animated this:

I know the coming year is going to be filled with a lot of stress, but I found this article at Design*Sponge about handling stress as a woman in the workplace.  Granted, I am not in a workplace yet (thank goodness!) but I can relate.  I think most women tend to take on more than they probably should because we have some strange sense of duty coded in our DNA.  We really want to be able to take care of everyone, create a happy home environment, spend time with the people we love, have a successful career, and fill our remaining free time with activities that fulfill us.    Unfortunately, there are only 24 hours in a day and 7 days in a week, which as it turns out, is a completely inadequate amount of time to do everything on the preceding list.  SO , like the women in the article suggest, it looks like I’ll be making a lot of sacrifices and NOT doing everything, but prioritizing school.  And to make sure that I don’t break down, I’m doing what they recommend and will continue to get exercise, sleep, and find a work routine that allows me to stay productive without driving me crazy.

Anyway, that’s the plan.  Stay tuned to see if it actually comes to fruition…

