About this Job Market….

It may seem crazy, but I’m already thinking about post-grad jobs.  For those of you keeping track at home, I’ve been in the program for almost 2 months, which means 8 months to go before I actually need a job.  This time, last year, I was NOT in the same mindset.  I had a senior thesis to begin, football games and ultimate tourneys to attend, and I was finally 21 and in college! Jobs were clearly not on my mind.  Which is why I’m in grad school.  Kidding, but really, I wasn’t ready to enter the job market at that point.  I was looking for a killer skill set to accompany my killer degree, and since acquiring that skill set is going so well, I’m feeling really positive about the job search process.

Part of this positivity is due to our fabulous career counselor, Mr. Ross Wade.  Being in a room with him, you can’t help but catch his enthusiasm for targeting goals, finding strengths, and networking.  After our meeting today, I felt like I could get any job I wanted! Granted, I know there is a lot of work ahead of me, but it will be rewarding work.  The kind of work that makes you hash out what you really want, your favorite types of jobs, and the kinds of people you’d like to work with.

Maybe I’m the only iMedia student blogging about this, but there have GOT to be other grad students out there thinking the same things.  As an undergrad, the ‘real’ world seems so scary; it’s a place without safety nets, professors, friends, or ample time to laugh at YouTube in the sorority living room.  Now, I’m feeling much more equipped to enter the real world with some really marketable skills.  And, thankfully, I’m also feeling more confident about the path I’ve chosen.  The subject matter is actually valid within academia, which keeps alive my little pilot-light of a dream of getting a PhD and becoming a professor somewhere down the road.  But the subject matter is also constantly changing, which satisfies my short attention span.  It’s a win-win-win.

One thought on “About this Job Market….

  1. didn’t know you had the “prof” dream…love it! Do it! But maybe get a real job for a while to pay for that phd.
    love you! mom

Comments are closed.