Infographic, Take 2

Thank goodness for second chances!  I have to admit I wasn’t happy with how my first infographic turned out.  It was supposed to be an interactive version of the appendices on my senior thesis: a graph of different militarization indicators, and a timeline of events in the False Positives Scandal.  I liked this idea because I have been playing around with the idea of turning my thesis into an interactive project: animations, podcasts, writing the Wikipedia page on the False Positives killings, doing a little research on interactivity in the world on scholarship, stuff like that.  But…..my flash prowess still isn’t that impressive and if you have never though about animation, it’s hard to visualize things in a 3-D environment.  I am one of those people who can’t pick out the right size Tupperware for the amount of leftovers in the pot; my spacial awareness is really weak.  So trying to think of manipulating things in Flash is a real mindf#$%, pardon my French.

Luckily I have been given a second chance in my Visual Aesthetics class to make a Flash infographic.  This one is a group project and we were all given a different theme to work with.  My group was given wars and conflicts, and after looking at some stationary and interactive infographics online, we settled on the Mexican Drug War.  The Latin Americanist in me was thrilled.  We’re working on an interactive map of the most violent areas in Mexico and the areas where the cartels operate, which is really interesting since as you would expect, the areas overlap completely, so visually you get a lot out of it.  Or so I thought.

In our critique, people were really confused and we are having to work on a color scheme to unify things, make our map clearer, and try and add more interactivity to the infographic so it won’t be so 2-dimensional.  It’s hard work but, as they say, someone has to do it.  Hopefully this infographic will be portfolio-worthy, so it’s back to work!

