The most important ingredient

Hi! I’m back. I’ve been busily blogging over at my Elon blog, again.  I thought I’d jot down some thoughts over here to keep it recent.  In case you haven’t noticed, there’s been a change in the background and over at rachelatimedia.wordpress.com I switched up the layout so that it is more similar to this site.  Hope everyone likes the changes!

Grad school is the ultimate exercise in focus. For once in my academic life, I am not distracted by extracurricular activities like sports or clubs or Greek life.  I still have a social life, but that’s just a requirement for my sanity.  Really though, I am realizing how much time I can spend on an assignment without having to rush to get it done in between meetings and practices.  It’s really nice to spread out a paper over several days to really let the information sink in or design then redesign something because I have the time to make it look nice.  Of course sometimes this isn’t true and I still have to rush to get things done, but for the most part, I enjoy the more laid-back pace of Grad School.

One thing I have become really dedicated to are my Twitter and LinkedIn accounts.  They are really powerful networking tools and a great way to let potential employers and people who work in the same field know what you are interested in.  I have probably doubled the number of people/organizations I follow on Twitter in the last few months, and I feel much more connected to the types of organizations I would like to work for one day since I am now in a constant conversation about what is going on in Latin America.  And I’ve linked my Twitter and blogs to LinkedIn so that anyone I network with professionally gets to know me on a more personal, yet still professional, level.  I have no doubt this is the point at which my mother will start freaking out and post a comment (love you!).  This is actually highly recommended by the communications department’s career counselor, since you are popping up in your followers’ feeds more often in meaningful ways.  Basically it’s the opposite of out of sight, out of mind.  Hopefully it will lead to some good job opportunities, but only time will tell!

The most important ingredient in the grad school equation has been people.  I have really enjoyed making a fun group of friends in the program as well as bonding with the undergrad girls on the Elon frisbee team.  As much as I love my boyfriend/roomie, every girl needs a little girl time and being in a sorority, I’ve been used to a TON of girl time.  At the end of the day it’s just nice to talk to people about goofy tv shows like The Sing Off or Glee over a beer and escape the responsibilities of school, bills, and making dinner.

That’s all from here! I’ve been doing LOTS of experimenting in the kitchen but I haven’t been taking pictures 😦  But soon I hope to break out the camera again and start taking pictures of Matt’s and my yummy creations!

