Merry Decorations for Christmas

This past Christmas was my first year away from home for the majority of the holiday season. The boy and I left for about 4 days to go back to his home in Jackson,MS for the actual holiday but decided we were home enough to justify spruce-ing (get it??) up the house!

We picked out a mini, North Carolina-grown Christmas tree and decked it with white lights and home-made ornaments:

Happy little spruce
Happy little spruce

I attempted making a button wreath and snowflake as seen on Pinterest but failed miserably. This embroidered felt ornament turned out a lot better:

A festive felt ornament
A festive felt ornament

We wanted a little more greenery around the apartment and decided on pine garland so that there would be two kinds of evergreen decoration. Most I used on the mantle, intertwined with some white burlap for a rustic Christmas theme:

Doesn't it look so cozy with the fire going?
Doesn’t it look so cozy with the fire going?

I took a section of the pine bough garland and made a small wreath for our deck door, again twisting in the burlap and hanging the wreath with some red ribbon.

Our jolly little apartment
Our jolly little apartment

The above picture also shows my blue  twinkle lights, hee hee! Every apartment needs a little something tacky 😉

Possibly my favorite Christmas craft were paint chip Christmas cards, which I sent to friends along with a felt ornament. I forgot to take a picture, but you can see the idea on my Holiday Pinterest board.

Hope your holidays were bright!

